#### STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

#### COUNCIL

#### 19 MAY 2022

Report Title	APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES			
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the Local			
	Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint Councillors to			
	committees with effect from 19 May 2022.			
Decision(s)	The Council <b>RESOLVES</b> to appoint Councillors to the			
	committees and positions set out in the report.			
Consultation and	The proposed appointments have been subject to consultation			
Feedback	with Group Leaders.			
Legal Implications	The Council is required to appoint Councillors to committees in			
	accordance with the proportionality rules.			
Report Author	Jenna Day, Senior Democratic Services & Elections Officer			
	Email: jenna.day@stroud.gov.uk			
Options	Members may make alternative nominations to the places			
-	available on committees subject to compliance with the			
	allocation rules.			
Appendices	Appendix 1 – tables of nominations received			

1. <u>Political Composition</u>: The Council consists of a number of political groupings. The various groups comprise the following Members.

Conservative Group Councillors (19)					
Jason Bullingham	Nick Housden	Loraine Patrick			
Gordan Craig	Nick Hurst	Keith Pearson			
Stephen Davies	Julie Job	Mark Ryder			
Trina Davis	Haydn Jones	Haydn Sutton			
Chris Evans	John Jones	Brian Tipper			
Victoria Gray	David Mossman				
Lindsey Green	Gill Oxley				
Labour & Cooperative Grou	p Councillors (15)				
Paula Baker	Helen Fenton	Jenny Miles			
Natalie Bennett	Colin Fryer	Nigel Prenter			
Chris Brine	Jessie Hoskin	Steve Robinson			
Doina Cornell	Trevor Hall	Mattie Ross			
Laurie Davies	Robin Layfield	Ashley Smith			

SDC Liberal Democrat Group Councillors (3)					
George James	Ken Tucker Rich Wilsher				
Green Group Councillors (13)					
Beki Aldam	Jonathan Edmunds	Lucas Schoemaker			
Martin Baxendale	Steve Hynd	Chloe Turner			
Catherine Braun	Chris Jockel	Tricia Watson			
Martin Brown	Norman Kay				
Kate Crews	Martin Pearcy				

- <u>Note:</u> In addition to the above, there is one Independent Member, namely, Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (known as 'Conservative No Group').
- 2. <u>Committees</u>: The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise the following.

Committee	No. of Members on the committee
Community Services & Licensing	12
Environment	13
Housing	12
Strategy and Resources	13
Audit & Standards	9
Development Control	12

3. <u>Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements</u>: The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the allocations are as set out below.

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (19 Cllrs)	Labour (15 Clirs)	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Green (13 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Community Services & Licensing	4	4	1	3	12
Environment	5	3	1	4	13
Development Control	5	4	0	3	12
Strategy & Resources	5	4	1	3	13
Housing	4	5	0	3	12
Audit & Standards	4	2	1	2	9
Seats to be allocated per Group	27	22	4	18	71

3.2 Each political group was asked to provide its allocations for the committees. The nominations are shown in the tables in Appendix A to this report.

# **Nominations for Leader and Deputy Leader**

Leader (Chair of Strategy and Resources Committee)	Deputy Leader (Vice- Chair of Strategy and Resources Committee		
	Catherine Braun		

# Nominations for committee membership

	(a) Audit a	nd Standards Committee	e (9 seats)	
Conservative (3 seats)	Labour (2 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (2 seats)	No Group (1 seat)
Keith Pearson	Paula Baker	Rich Wilsher	Martin Pearcy	Nigel Studdert-Kennedy
Stephen Davies	Steve Robinson		Norman Kay	
Nick Hurst				
		ervices & Licensing Com		
Conservative (4 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
John Jones	Chis Brine	Ken Tucker	Beki Aldam	
Gordon Craig	Jessie Hoskin		Kate Crews	
Julie Job	Nigel Prenter		Jonathan Edmunds	
Gill Oxley	Natalie Bennett			
NB membe	(c) Devel) rs must have attended the	opment Control Commit	• •	t on the committee
Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (0 seats)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Haydn Jones	Jenny Miles		Martin Baxendale	
Jason Bullingham	Chris Brine		Lucas Schoemaker	
Victoria Gray	Helen Fenton		Martin Brown	
Mark Ryder	Ashley Smith			
Loraine Patrick				

Page 3

Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (3 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (4 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Haydn Jones	Robin Layfield	George James	Chloe Turner	
Dave Mossman	Natalie Bennett		Norman Kay	
Brian Tipper	Ashley Smith		Martin Brown	
Haydn Sutton			Tricia Watson	
Christopher Evans				
Conservative (4 seats)	(e) He Labour (5 seats)	Lib Dem (0 seats)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Lindsey Green	Mattie Ross		Lucas Schoemaker	
Trina Davis	Paula Baker		Steve Hynd	
Nick Housden	Laurie Davies		Christopher Jockel	
Loraine Patrick	Colin Fryer			
	Jenny Miles			

- \* \*\*
- Automatic appointment on basis of such councillors also being a Group Leader These appointments are conditional on such councillors being appointed as the Chair of the Community Services & Licensing, Environment or Housing Committees.

Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Stephen Davies*	Doina Cornell*	Ken Tucker*	Catherine Braun*	
Nick Hurst	Chris Brine**		Chloe Turner**	
Gordon Craig	Mattie Ross**		Martin Pearcy	
Keith Pearson	Trevor Hall			
Nick Housden				

Agenda Item 8

(g) Audit and Standards Committee					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
CHAIR					
				Nigel Studdert-Kennedy	
	VICE-CHAIR				
			Martin Pearcy		
	(h) Community	Services & Licensin	g Committee		
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
		CHAIR	_		
	Chris Brine				
	VICE-CHAIR				
			Beki Aldam		

Agenda Item 8 Appendix A

	(i) Deve	elopment Control Com	mittee		
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
CHAIR					
			Martin Baxendale		
		VICE CHAIR			
	Helen Fenton				
	(j	i) Environment Commi	ittee		
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
		CHAIR			
			Chloe Turner		
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	VICE-CHAIR	·	·	
	Robin Layfield				

(k) Housing Committee						
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group		
	CHAIR					
	Mattie Ross					
	VICE-CHAIR					
			Lucas Schoemaker			
	(I) Stra	tegy and Resources C	committee			
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group		
		CHAIR				
	Leader of Council					
VICE CHAIR						
			Deputy Leader of Council			

# Appointments to other bodies

(i) Health and Care Ove	erview and Scrutiny Comm	ittee			Age
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	genda
		LEAD			
	Helen Fenton				Appendix
		SUBSTITUTE			Ă
	Natalie Bennett				

(ii) Gloucestershire Police a	and Crime Panel			
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
		LEAD		
			Martin Pearcy	
		SUBSTITUTE		
	Chris Brine			

(iii) Gloucestershire Economi	c Growth Scrutiny Committ	ee		
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
		LEAD		
			Chloe Turner	
		SUBSTITUTE		
	Ashley Smith			

(iv) Gloucestershire Covid-19 Outbreak Engagement Board has been disbanded. Nominations are not required.

# Appoint three Mental Health Champions

Mental Health Champions				
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
Victoria Gray			Tricia Watson	

#### Appoint five Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Working Group

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Working Group				
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
Gill Oxley	Robin Layfield		Norman Kay	
	Natalie Bennett		Jonathan Edmunds	

# Appoint <u>three</u> Members, <u>one</u> Parish Council Representative and <u>one</u> Independent Person to the Standards Sub-Committee

- Chair of Audit and Standards Committee
- Vice-Chair of Audit and Standards Committee
- Chair of Constitution Working Group (Cllr Keith Pearson)
- Parish Council Representative (Muriel Bullock)
- Independent Person (Phyllida Pyper)